Renaming formopendental

This forum is for programmers who have questions about the source code.
Post Reply
ujjwal singh
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:33 am

Renaming formopendental

Post by ujjwal singh » Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:57 am

I want to edit the name or text coming in the top left position ie title bar. When i make the change in the form opendental form in properties window the new name reflects for a while but when it connect to the database it return to the previous one.

Plz help me how can i edit it?

Thanks

User avatar
jsalmon
Posts: 1551
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Renaming formopendental

Post by jsalmon » Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:59 am

PatientL.GetMainTitle()

Note that it already has a conveniently placed hook: :D

Code: Select all

Plugins.HookAddCode(null,"PatientL.GetMainTitle_beginning",parameters);
The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit.

Jason Salmon
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com

ujjwal singh
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:33 am

Re: Renaming formopendental

Post by ujjwal singh » Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:04 am

Thanks Jsalmon

It is on the same form .?

User avatar
jsalmon
Posts: 1551
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Renaming formopendental

Post by jsalmon » Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:20 am

ujjwal singh wrote:It is on the same form .?
No, it's located in OpenDental > Data Interface > PatientL.cs

This is because you can change the current patient selected from all over the program and we need to update the main title of the application with that patient's information. This class was just a nice central location to get that done.
The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit.

Jason Salmon
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com

ujjwal singh
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:33 am

Re: Renaming formopendental

Post by ujjwal singh » Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:55 pm

Hello,


How can i change the program name of opendental. Under the folder bin if i make the name change from opendental.exe to other the program doesnt run?

Thanks & Regards
Ujjwal SIngh

User avatar
jsalmon
Posts: 1551
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Renaming formopendental

Post by jsalmon » Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:05 am

The easiest way is to set the SoftwareName preference within the preference table to whatever you want the software name to display. This will only help the display from within Open Dental.
Changing the actual executable would require somthing along the lines of compiling your own executable where you have renamed the project so that other projects and dlls are not looking for OpenDental.exe
The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit.

Jason Salmon
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com

Post Reply