Linking website to database in the office

For users or potential users.
Estan

Linking website to database in the office

Post by Estan » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:25 am

I wondered if anyone can guide me through this.

I want to run a MYSQL select query from my website using php querying the MYSQL SERVER on my office pc which has the opendental database on it.

I have already set-up the the appropriate php files to render the web page and for the query.
I have an ssl certificate on the web server.

I have found the following bits and bobs on the internet and think I need to do the following:

1.set up a user on mysql server.
2.Give it the ip address and username of website.
3.secure using ssl certificate
4. to forward port 3306 on the office pc

I will be using my backup on a home pc to start with. I'm a compete novice, so if anyone can give me an idiot guide I would really appreciate it.

Rickliftig

Re: Linking website to database in the office

Post by Rickliftig » Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:59 pm

If all you want to do is access and use Open Dental remotely, there are many programs. I use logmein. Similarly, if all you want to do is backup to your home, I also use logmein backup. Backup to the cloud is easy with Crashplan or the like.

Hey, why re-invent the wheel?

Rick
Another Happy Open Dental User!

Rick Liftig, DMD FAGD
University of CT 1979
West Hartford, CT 06110
srick@snet.net

Hersheydmd

Post by Hersheydmd » Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:48 pm

Rick,
Why do you need LogMeIn, when Windows Remote Desktop works so well and is so easy to use?
Robert M Hersh DMD, FAGD
Univ. of Penn 1982
Brooklyn, NY 11234
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Robert-M ... 1471599429

Rickliftig

Post by Rickliftig » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:15 pm

Rob - probably like so many of us, that's what I started using and so I'm used to it. I guess I'll put RDP on the todo list!

Best,

Rick
Another Happy Open Dental User!

Rick Liftig, DMD FAGD
University of CT 1979
West Hartford, CT 06110
srick@snet.net

Estan