New user, question about Progress Notes

For users or potential users.
LeeDDS

New user, question about Progress Notes

Post by LeeDDS » Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:23 am

Hi all,

I recently joined a practice that has been using Open Dental for several years. I'm a younger doctor, and I come from a background where I have become accustomed too electronic records as the basis upon which I draw my notes, treatment plans, and consent forms.

I'm trying now to convert the office that I work at to paperless; right now, they use Open Dental purely for e-claiming to insurance and entering patient information. My first step is to incorporate progress notes in the computer rather than writing them in the paper chart...however, I've noticed that when I write notes, they can be altered or deleted at anytime. Also, when I code for say a #12 O composite, and weeks later I realize I actually did #13 O, I can easily go back and change the code.

Back when I worked in a hospital for residency, we would write our notes and then sign them. Once signed, the note cannot be altered or deleted in any way. Does Open Dental have such an option, to make the note legally-binding?

Thanks so much for any help! I'm sure there will be lots more questions to come.

-Lee, DDS

Rickliftig

Re: New user, question about Progress Notes

Post by Rickliftig » Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:03 am

Lee - the administrator has access to the Setup-> security menu and in there is the capability to lock out changes after a certain date. This would be a good idea not only for notes, but also for financial reasons (to deter embezzlement). And regardless, under the chart view options is a box that says audit. When this box is checked, you will see any changes made to the patient record.