Importing patient history from PracticeWorks?

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.
ithcy

Importing patient history from PracticeWorks?

Post by ithcy » Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:38 pm

Hi,

I'd like to write a little script to grab the patient history data out of Practiceworks 6 via ODBC and import it into Open Dental (I'm running the OD 5.0 beta).

I am a programmer, but I've never messed with Pervasive, so I could use some pointers.

Has anyone here delved into the Pworks database structure? Have any notes or documentation that might get me going in the right direction?

Thanks!

ithcy

Post by ithcy » Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:35 am

okay, well, i guess the replies here got lost. oh well. i'm still working on this problem and i'll post something soon.

jordansparks
Site Admin

Post by jordansparks » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:13 pm

Yes, terribly sorry about the loss. I don't remember anything very important on this thread. There was a link to the MySQL website for conversions from Pervasive, but we can find that again if we need to.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com

ithcy

Post by ithcy » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:49 pm

no, there wasn't anything super important.

by the way, this is Bill, from Dr. Youngman's office. i spoke to your brother on the phone earlier today. thanks, both of you, for your help with the database conversion to 5.0.9.

jordansparks
Site Admin

Post by jordansparks » Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:09 pm

Great. Glad it worked for you.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com

ithcy

Post by ithcy » Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:05 pm

Here's how to get access to your PracticeWorks data through ODBC. This is just a copy of a private message I sent to a user on this forum. When I get the foreign key structure figured out, I'll post it.

There are two main steps to this: Create the ODBC data source, and create a junction point (symlink.)

---------------------------------------------