Office Network Build series

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.
Restemayer

Office Network Build series

Post by Restemayer » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:09 am

So, I've been kind of on here for a while. I'm the CIO for my parent's dental office, which is just a fancy way of saying that my parents call me to fix all their computer problems. Outside of the work I do for their office, I'm a computer technician, network administrator, programmer, EMT, Soldier, (almost) lawyer, jack-of-all-trades. When they pulled me in to switch them over to OD, I was basically given carte blanche to rebuild their office any way I wanted from the ground up.

When I started, my number one goal was to utilize, to the extent possible, all open-source/no-cost software. Minus OD itself, our imaging software, and the workstations' OS/Software (though I'm thinking of trying my hand at a linux fork of OD in the future), I was able to get the entire office running on no-cost software. I'm thinking about doing a video series/tutorial about how I set our systems up and why I did what I did, if there is an interest in that.