Patients list refresh while typing

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.

Patients list refresh while typing

Postby Mifa » Tue Dec 08, 2015 12:06 pm

The refresh while typing option seems to limit the number of patients we can scroll through to about 40 names at any time. Is this on purpose?

We were looking for a patient by last name in the select patient window. The option "refresh while typing" was checked. This particular patient has a very common family name and we have about 50 active patients with the same name. When we enter his name in the search window, he does not appear in the initial list. We had to click on the button "Get all" for the list to display all the patients and find the one we were looking for. If we click on "Search" after clicking on "Get all", the list is once again truncated back to 40 names.
Mifa
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:52 pm

Re: Patients list refresh while typing

Postby adearmondsattler » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:03 pm

This is an intentional feature.
If you had 50000 patients in your database and the grid didn't limit itself, the grid would initially load with 50000 rows. From there, every letter you typed would go and get a subset of that 50000 from the database and display them on the screen.

This would be unbearably slow, hence the 40 patient limit. Narrowing the search more via another filter would be another way to get the desired patient without having to use the GetAll button.
“If debugging is the process of removing bugs, then programming must be the process of putting them in.”

Allen DeArmond-Sattler
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com
User avatar
adearmondsattler
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:29 am

Re: Patients list refresh while typing

Postby Mifa » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:45 pm

I understand, but since the list does not reach the bottom of the window, it gives the false impression to the end user that all the results are shown. Maybe a comment saying "showing 40 out 52 results" might be helpful as well.
Mifa
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:52 pm

Re: Patients list refresh while typing

Postby adearmondsattler » Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:53 pm

I see how that could be confusing. Adding the "showing 40 out 52 results" comment would be a feature request. If it garners some attention it will get done.
“If debugging is the process of removing bugs, then programming must be the process of putting them in.”

Allen DeArmond-Sattler
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com
User avatar
adearmondsattler
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:29 am


Return to Advanced Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron