Virtualization vs Hyper V and help with Schick

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.
jimgaas

Virtualization vs Hyper V and help with Schick

Post by jimgaas » Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:19 pm

Hello everyone,
I am new to Opendental and I would like some input. I converted from Softdent to OD and I am delighted with everything about OD. I love the freedom of having the data much more transportable that it was in Softdent. As I read the old posts about changing OD to MS SQL it concerns me because one of the things I really like about OD is fact that it is not married to a closed system like Mr. Softy. I use Schick Xrays which require MS SQL Express. I would love to get this dependency off my back and use an open source database manager, like MySQL, Postgesql, etc. I have talked to Schick and they say they are married to MS SQL. If I am going to be forced into the MS environment, I would like it to be as flexible as possible and as easy to backup and transport to new hardware as possible. Because of MS security, you can't just move a disk from one computer to another and run it like you can in Linux. For that reason, I love the idea that many of you are using, namely running a Windows Server guest in a virtual machine, especially a Linux host. I would also like to virtualize all my work stations by making appliances that are transportable between machines in case of emergency. My network is delicate because I am using Windows 7 Pro as a server, which is a stretch, especially for a MS SQL Express server. I have a mix of boxes in my office consisting of XP Pro, Vista, Windows 7 Home and Pro. They all work together nicely but we have the occasional problem that my XP boxes are dropped from the network. I have also considered the possibility of a Hyper V product, virtualizing all my machines and deploying them to work stations from the server with WAIK (Windows Automated Installation Kit), etc.,etc. I know