3D tooth chart under linux

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.
mattclar

3D tooth chart under linux

Post by mattclar » Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:17 am

I have got Open Dental working under Ubuntu linux using mono 2.4. But my problem is that I cant enable the 3D tooth chart, yes I know it doesn't work on Linux but wouldnt it be nice just to try it out at least? see if new versions of mono that have been released such as 2.4 which was released only a few months ago have resolved the problem? I see that mono has OpenGl support http://mono-project.com/Tao but Im not a coder so maybe I am missing a vital point but to me it seems that with Tao the 3D tooth chart should be able to function on linux/mac.

Thanks
Matt Clarke

jordansparks
Site Admin

Re: 3D tooth chart under linux

Post by jordansparks » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:19 pm

We have used Tao since the beginning and continue to use it in order to make OpenGL work with Windows. But that's not the same as making OpenGL work with Winforms on Linux. There's a hardware interface here and nobody has been willing to go to the effort to make OpenGL work with Winforms. It won't work. I'm 99% sure. So I don't have time to turn on that feature to let you try. Sorry.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com

drtech

Post by drtech » Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:13 am

If only we could get it working under linux...the days of rebuilding my windows boxes every year would be over....
David Fuchs
Dentist - Springfield, MO
Smile Dental http://www.887-smile.com

mattclar

Post by mattclar » Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:57 pm

Did some further searching not sure if this addresses your problem but perhaps it does ...again Im not a programer lol

http://go-mono.com/forums/#nabble-td20831321

jordansparks
Site Admin

Post by jordansparks » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:55 am