Linux + smb.conf

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.
microphylum

Linux + smb.conf

Post by microphylum » Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:54 pm

Hi all,

I'm setting up an Open Dental server using Linux (CentOS 5.2). I've set up the samba server properly (I think), but for some reason I can't access it from my Windows workstations (the network path was not found). My network works fine (I checked using ping), so other than a misconfigured smb.conf, I don't know what's wrong.

How do I set up a smb.conf for Open Dental?

Edit: I should note that I tried the smb.conf at http://wiki.gacq.com/index.php/Open_Dental that but it doesn't work.

Thanks!

microphylum

Re: Linux + smb.conf

Post by microphylum » Sat Oct 18, 2008 4:17 pm

I've found out the problem: there was a firewall blocking the port used by smb. Now I have my samba and mysql running, what do I do next? I can't seem to find a good resource for this.

Thanks!

murmsk

Post by murmsk » Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:35 pm

make a share for the a-z files and setup the folder structure

shut down mysql

read/copy the database over ... restart mysql

point the workstations to the server and your done.

good luck

steve
steve

microphylum

Post by microphylum » Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:17 am

Thanks for your help, Steve!
murmsk wrote: point the workstations to the server and your done.
I'm having some difficulty here. Open Dental seems to throw some access denied errors when I try to point it at the mysql database.

Also, when I try to point the A-Z folders to the network share, it tells me cryptically that it needs to be a valid network share. I am certain it is, however (that is, I can browse to it using Windows Explorer).

At this point, it looks like a misconfiguration.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

jordansparks
Site Admin

Post by jordansparks » Sun Oct 19, 2008 1:36 pm

Are you sure you set up the MySQL permissions correctly? It can be tricky: