17.4.34 Procedure fee x7 in account & appt window

For complex topics that regular users would not be interested in. For power users and database administrators.

17.4.34 Procedure fee x7 in account & appt window

Postby drtech » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:21 pm

We ran into a problem with 17.4.34 and all 17.4.x as far as I know, but just noticed this today on some cash patients where our prophy code shows the correct fee when you double click the procedure, but in the account and in the procedure list in the appt edit window, etc, the amount is multiplied by 7! You can change the fee in the procedure edit window and it always shows the amount you enter x7 after you push ok. It is NOT for all procedures, only all my existing D1110 related ones. (I have D1110-6MR, D1110-Prophy, etc) I made a NEW procedure code, D1110-1stVisit, and it works fine! Anyone see this or know that the issue might be? Seems like something wrong in the database with those codes, but then why does it show correctly when you open the procedure edit window? That seems to point more to a program math error....
David Fuchs
Dentist - Springfield, MO
Smile Dental http://www.887-smile.com
User avatar
drtech
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:44 am
Location: Springfield, MO

Re: 17.4.34 Procedure fee x7 in account & appt window

Postby jsalmon » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:11 pm

I instantly suspect someone setting the Base Units when something like this happens.
http://www.opendental.com/manual/procedurecodeedit.html
That or there was a bug and hopefully it is fixed since v17.3 is now up to v17.3.62. However, it doesn't look promising when you say it happens for all of v17.4. That just leans more towards my base units idea.
The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit.

Jason Salmon
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com
User avatar
jsalmon
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:33 pm

Re: 17.4.34 Procedure fee x7 in account & appt window

Postby drtech » Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:07 pm

and my gals just informed me we received back an EOB for a prophy for $574 where we had to write off $500! :p Obviously they were not checking for accuracy of the fee when checking the pt out!
David Fuchs
Dentist - Springfield, MO
Smile Dental http://www.887-smile.com
User avatar
drtech
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:44 am
Location: Springfield, MO

Re: 17.4.34 Procedure fee x7 in account & appt window

Postby tgriswold » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:40 pm

I agree with Jason that it sounds exactly what base units is meant to do, so possibly someone filled some in by accident at some point and fixed it so new procs do not have it anymore. You'll see the normal proc fee on procedures and everywhere else (including reports) it should count the base units. If the code was changed after you updated to 17.4, the audit trail would show any base unit changes to the procedure code itself. You can look at them by going to the procedure code edit window like Jason linked, and clicking the audit trail button. The base units would have been copied from when the procedure was first added to the chart though, which may have been a while before you updated.
To check if this is the issue, you can run a query and look at the procedurelog.BaseUnits, it should be 0 for almost all procedures.
Travis Griswold
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com
tgriswold
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:52 am

Re: 17.4.34 Procedure fee x7 in account & appt window

Postby drtech » Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:09 am

Ok, finally figured out where base units were, and yes, they had been changed to 6 on those codes. Not sure how or why, but when I changed them back to 0, it fixed the problem!

Thanks guys!
David Fuchs
Dentist - Springfield, MO
Smile Dental http://www.887-smile.com
User avatar
drtech
 
Posts: 1539
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:44 am
Location: Springfield, MO


Return to Advanced Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron