Open Dental for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS) clinics

For users or potential users.
doug

Open Dental for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS) clinics

Post by doug » Fri Apr 29, 2022 12:56 pm

I work with a group of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS) clinics with seven locations. They are currently on WinOMS but are looking to make a change. I am not a doctor myself, but am looking into options for them. I work with general dentists who love Open Dental.

Do OMS clinics use Open Dental?

wjstarck

Re: Open Dental for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS) clinics

Post by wjstarck » Mon May 02, 2022 8:35 am

I'm an OMS, and I've been using it for 15 years.

It works really well, although there are some areas that could be better tailored for OMS, for example generation of referral letters with images. This can be addressed by having a 3rd party programmer utilize the plugin framework, which is nice because anything you can imagine can be added to OD via the plugin framework.

I am also a programmer, and I have developed an Anesthesia EMR that adds that functionality to Open Dental along with automated import of vital sign data. The link is http://www.bigideasoft.com

You are welcome to give me a call at 817-817-1709 if you have any questions or would like to discuss the needs of your doctors' practice. I am happy to help in any way that I can.
Cheers,

Bill Starck, DDS
Big Idea Software, LLC
Developer, EASy(Electronic Anesthesia System) for Open Dental
817-807-1709
TX, USA

jordansparks
Site Admin

Post by jordansparks » Fri May 06, 2022 7:54 pm

Or we could get our act together and improve the referral letters. I thought we already had images on referral letters, but maybe it's time to go back and take another look.
Jordan Sparks, DMD
http://www.opendental.com

jordansparks
Site Admin

Post by jordansparks » Sat May 07, 2022 12:07 pm