Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

For users or potential users.

Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:18 am

A plugin to make IntraOral Cameras work with Open Dental using DirectShow instead of Twain.
*Works with Open Dental 16.4.15 or higher

Download and run the installer for IOC Snapshot, and it will install the plugin automatically.. Be sure Open Dental is closed on the workstation while you are installing the plugin.
http://iocsnapshot.com/IOC_Snapshot.exe

Installation Instructions:
http://iocsnapshot.com/installation-manuals/open-dental/

2 Week Evaluation License:
FgKgAaQGdfufAtQBDgABARQ6EjbSfoG2H9yeiyQaNZAc3R0SWbzUbWSIWxFz7yDoZnwqN3yplLa9suVyGuVesw==

Possible Bugs: If you have a webcam in a laptop, you should probably disable this camera in device manager.

Warning: If you upgrade from 17.3 or lower, to 17.4 or higher, you must reinstall this program to add the correct files back into the Open Dental folder.

How to use:
Step 1: Click the Import Button in the Images Module to bring up the Open Dental Camera interface. Click Capture to take images or you may try a foot pedal.
Image

Step 2. When you close the window the images will be assigned in the "Photos" category and "Intraoral Camera" will be the description of the images.
Image

Link to the thread about my IOC Snapshot Program:
http://opendentalsoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5225&p=27580
Last edited by Justin Shafer on Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:54 pm, edited 46 times in total.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby SmileShoppe » Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:23 am

Justin,

Thanks for all your working with making various hardware accessories compatible with OpenDental.

Question, can this be adapted for use with webcam capture into "Patient Images" versus using VideoDS.DS?
SmileShoppe
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:35 am

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Justin Shafer » Sat Jan 21, 2017 11:44 pm

That's exactly what this does. I have it hard coded to go into the "Photos" category instead of "Patient Pictures".

Those 2 categories confuse me. I think of Patient Pictures as the picture you might take when they walk in, or in the chair, not of teeth? Patient Portrait = Patient Pictures?
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby dgraffeo » Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:08 am

Images in the Patient Pictures directory (the first in the list, I believe) will show up when appointments are hovered over in the appointment module, and you have it set up to show patient pictures in the bubble that shows. Yeah, it's more for identifying patients or having pictures of them.
"To understand what recursion is, you must first understand recursion."

David Graffeo
Open Dental Software
http://www.opendental.com
User avatar
dgraffeo
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Arna » Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:25 pm

Justin Shafer wrote:That's exactly what this does. I have it hard coded to go into the "Photos" category instead of "Patient Pictures".

Those 2 categories confuse me. I think of Patient Pictures as the picture you might take when they walk in, or in the chair, not of teeth? Patient Portrait = Patient Pictures?


You're exactly right. I would have personally called it "mug shots", but hey, not my software ;)
(and you can rename those folders, anyways)
Entropy isn't what it used to be...

Arna Meyer
User avatar
Arna
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Justin Shafer » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:11 am

double posted.
Last edited by Justin Shafer on Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Justin Shafer » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:11 am

That's funny! "mugshots" :D
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Arna » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:34 pm

Justin Shafer wrote:That's funny! "mugshots" :D


Trust you to have an opinion ;)
Entropy isn't what it used to be...

Arna Meyer
User avatar
Arna
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Arna » Tue May 02, 2017 4:36 pm

***** ATTENTION *****

It has been reported that there are some compatability issues with this plugin and newer versions of Open Dental. There has been a reported loss in functionality in version 16.4.

Unfortunately, Justin is unable to work on this project right now, so please consider this plugin before updating your software.
Entropy isn't what it used to be...

Arna Meyer
User avatar
Arna
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Arna » Wed May 03, 2017 11:10 am

OK- so we think we have it figured. The issue with the software is not Open Dental specifically, but with AVAST and AVG.

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201702.0

If you are getting a black screen when trying to use your intraoral camera and have AVAST installed, you may want to visit the link above (and consider a different antivirus if they don't resolve this ASAP).
Entropy isn't what it used to be...

Arna Meyer
User avatar
Arna
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:26 am

I added support for this type of camera as of tonight, works well with my plugin and IOC Snapshot program.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N44NTZU?psc=1

The camera does 1280x1024 snapshots, and I have the preview window running at 640x480. Works well with VixWin and Open Dental if you use my IOC Snapshot program and Dexis 10, not so well with Dexis 9.. choppy frame rate. Not sure about other programs.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use Cameras without Twain

Postby Justin Shafer » Mon Dec 25, 2017 8:45 am

Arna wrote:OK- so we think we have it figured. The issue with the software is not Open Dental specifically, but with AVAST and AVG.

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201702.0

If you are getting a black screen when trying to use your intraoral camera and have AVAST installed, you may want to visit the link above (and consider a different antivirus if they don't resolve this ASAP).


Yeah.. Avast pops up a window the first time you run a camera program and asks permission to allow camera access. At least it does for me. Perhaps back in May they had a bug where Avast wasn't asking for access?

Edit: Yeah.. since they bought AVG I ran into this with some computers running Eaglesoft... It wasn't the video card driver... It was AVG.
Last edited by Justin Shafer on Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:17 am

1. Added the ability to switch cameras, when you load the plugin it remembers the last camera you used.
2. The http://www.onsitedentalsystems.com/IOC_Snapshot.exe program will now create the Program Link in the Open Dental database for you as well as copy the DLL files to the Open Dental directory.. If you uninstall, it removes the Program Link entry in the database.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:14 am

Updated:
Added Support for the Image Master HD-1 Camera.
Added Support for BDA Cameras that require a Cross Bar. Like the DexCam3 camera if you use the BDA Driver instead of the WDM Driver. Or say the EZ-Cap Capture Card and an old Gendex Acucam with a foot pedal.
Fixed my installer with adding the Open Dental Program Link.

Cool eh? 1280x720
http://www.imaginsystems.com/imagemasterhd/
Image
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:30 am

Updated again: :D
Added support for the ProDent PD-720 Camera.
Made the window resizable and not so large on the initial run, if your camera resolution is 1280 width or higher. Also the window resizes based off the camera's aspect ratio.
The size of your window is remembered unless the camera changes.
Fixed a bug with the MD-960U Camera and others..
Switched from Bitmaps to Lossless Jpegs to save space on the server.

1 1280x1024 Bitmap Image was 5MB.. a bit too large. Now it is much smaller.

The prodent pd-720 camera claims to be 1600x1200, but the largest resolution on the still pin is 640x480.. so I went with 1280x1024 on the capture pin... The frame rate seems just right.
Last edited by Justin Shafer on Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:09 pm

Updated the plugin:
Switched from the DirectX library to SharpDX for better compatibility with Open Dental 17.3 and "the future", as Open Dental will eventually remove the DirectX dll files from Open Dental, plus SharpDX is more modern. This is to listen for foot pedal events.

Thanks to the Open Dental team for advice.

I ALSO added an installer for the free version of the plugin, and added support for version 17.4, as that did require some changes in the plugin to work with code changes in 17.4
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby KristinAdahills » Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:28 pm

Is there a quicker/easier way to label images? Tooth numbers, etc
KristinAdahills
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:25 pm

Re: A FREE Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:18 am

KristinAdahills wrote:Is there a quicker/easier way to label images? Tooth numbers, etc


Not really.. you have to edit it after they are sent to Open Dental. Unless a lot of people ask for it, then I could make it standard. Maybe... maybe not. It could be harder then I think. It usually is
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby kylesmithdds » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:58 pm

I have just completed and and followed all of these steps for working with my PD-740 camera in Open Dental. When I click "import", I am still getting the window asking for me to upload a file from my computer, not the camera viewing box. Why might this be?
kylesmithdds
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:08 pm

Hmmm.. I don't know.. if you like call me. 817-909-4222

Did you check device manager to see if you have any other cameras active? Like if this computer is a laptop or all-in-one pc with a built in camera? If so, it needs to be disabled.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:36 am

Added support for the DexCam4 HD. :D
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Ardavan » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:08 am

Nice, Is the licensing per site or per station?
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who will laugh at this joke, and those who won't. ~Annonymous Bug Writer
User avatar
Ardavan
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 9:10 am

Re: Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:31 am

It is per station, thanks for asking.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.

Re: Open Dental Plugin to use IntraOral Cameras

Postby Justin Shafer » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:53 am

New features and fixes:

1. Added more code to the plugin installer that can detect Open Dental's install directory instead of assuming it is in Program Files.
2. Ability to maximize the window and there is now a minimum window size based off the camera's resolution. :D
3. Added support for a new camera coming out, the MD-1090 which has 1280x720 or 1920x1080 resolutions.
4. Added support for the DexCAM 4 HD camera and Digi-Doc Iris HD camera.
User avatar
Justin Shafer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX.


Return to Main Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

cron