Conversion issues, should I start from scratch ?

For users or potential users.
azzedine

Conversion issues, should I start from scratch ?

Post by azzedine » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:11 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to OD, to be hones my new to the dental field. My wife is the dentist and since I work in IT I'm the one in charge of the IT.

We're switching from an old software named Practice Outlook (1993), we did a test conversion and the results are really not great. Parsing issues that lead to "fake patient" with random strings in it, existing patient with random string at the end of the first name/last name, same deal with the insurances and as this was not enough the finance info are wrong :/

Anyway it's a mess, but we need to update our software because I'm the only who can use it right now and the front desk is lost (it even has a DOS interface hahha). What do you guys suggest ?

On a related note, It seems to me that most dentist would use insurances so why OP doesn't ship with insurance addresses/po box for major provider ? Am I missing something ?

Thanks
Azzedine

Manny Ramirez

Re: Conversion issues, should I start from scratch ?

Post by Manny Ramirez » Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:24 pm

I think you've already answered your own question. Here are three things I think you've heard of before in IT:
KISS (Keep it simple stupid)
If in doubt throw it out
Garbage in Garbage out

Keep the old system. Learn OD and start from scratch. That way you will have a clean system

PD: By the way, OD doesn't know which insurances your wife will take... that is why OD leaves it up to you to fill them out. I know sucks but that makes it twice the fun. :lol:
Manny Ramirez
Senior Network Engineer
E-ssential Networks LLC

jsalmon

Post by jsalmon » Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:34 am