new computer for established small practice

For users or potential users.
kirktucci

new computer for established small practice

Post by kirktucci » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:27 pm

I'm in the process of computerizing my 20 year old practice and am a bit overwhelmed by all the information out there. I have decided on Open Dental but am finding it difficult to figure out what hardware I should have in my office. I am a one dentist, one hygienist office and don't expect to be growing any further than that. I thought one server and one workstation would suffice but then I get bogged down trying to figure out what I should purchase for this. I am not going to digital xrays or go paperless any time soon, if at all. Most of the threads I have been reading are for much larger practices or those with expectations to grow considerably. Would one tower and a laptop suffice? Do I need Windows 7 professional on both? Thank you for any help and recommendations you can give.

teethdood

Re: new computer for established small practice

Post by teethdood » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:19 pm

Hi kirktucci,

As an OD user/advocate, I would like to say that you have made the right decision to go with OD. OD is very flexible in that it gives you room to grow into it slowly. The more you use it, the more you will find little features here and there that would make your life easier. You'd be like, "How did I survive this long without this?"

As far as "...not going to...go paperless any time soon..." there are regulations that require dental offices to go paperless (if not EHR compliant) by 2014. The time to do it is now. Do it, don't look back. Computerize each and every one of your operatories.

Short term: 1 server doubled as a frontdesk computer also, and a laptop to move from room to room. Doable, not recommended.
Long term: 1 server, 1 frontdesk computer, and 1 computer for each op. Get a wireless router. Done. You don't need to wire your office, WiFi is fine for most things nowadays.