Planned Appointments

For users or potential users.
Rickliftig

Planned Appointments

Post by Rickliftig » Sun May 01, 2011 2:38 am

Re: Lab slips and planned appointments (in the advanced forum)

jordansparks wrote:
Hmm. Since we always used planned appointments, that issue never came up. I guess a simple check could prevent attaching to today's appt.

Rob Hersh wrote: We hardly ever use the "planned appts". I've tried on several occasions, but it doesn't seem to make sense for us. I guess I'm not that good at planning exactly how many visits a tx plan will take, nor exactly what I will do on each visit.
Not a bad time to start a new thread about this since planned appointments are at the heart of the program. In our office, planned appointments work ok, but.... a few annoyances exist.

1) Once a planned appointment is completed, it has to be removed manually from the planned appointment list.
2) The make/find appointment list is starting to get longer and longer on each patient
3) error checking is handy (the above conversation about lab slips is a good example)

I am interested in the group's thoughts and comments as to how the workflow goes in your office.
Another Happy Open Dental User!

Rick Liftig, DMD FAGD
University of CT 1979
West Hartford, CT 06110
srick@snet.net

jordansparks
Site Admin

Re: Planned Appointments

Post by jordansparks » Sun May 01, 2011 7:00 am

1. I still don't understand why anyone would want to automatically delete a planned appointment because then you could never verify that the front desk scheduled what you told them to schedule. Maybe it's time to start hiding the planned appointments as they get done instead of the suggestion I hear repeatedly to delete them.